What's the substitute for oil in a cake?

When making a cake, if you don't have oil, you could use vegetable shortening, melted butter or margarine, mayonnaise, sour cream, yogurt, unsweetened applesauce , a ripe mashed banana, ghee, or even cooked and pureed cauliflower pumpkin zucchini or beets.