Is montenegro a city or a country?

Montenegro is a country that has been ranked as an upper middle-income economy. It is located in the southwestern part of Europe and borders Croatia which lies on the western side and Kosovo on the eastern side. Bosnia and Serbia are to the northwest and northeast of the country, respectively.