Who is the nineteen eighties u. s. davis cup team captain?

Ashe retired in 1980 after suffering a heart attack in July 1979 and went on to serve as captain of the US Davis Cup team for five years, winning the title in his first year as captain in 1981 when the USA beat Argentina in the final and retaining it the following year.