When did america go to the vietnam war?

US involvement in the Vietnam War began shortly after the end of WW II, first in an extremely limited capacity & escalated over a period of 20 years, peaking in April 1969 with 543,000 American combat troops stationed in Vietnam.

---

March 8, 1965