What is a disposition fee?

A disposition fee is a flat fee charged by some car lessors payable at the end of vehicle lease. The purpose of the disposition fee is to clean up and repair any damage to the vehicle and bring it into a suitable condition for resale. The disposition fee is specified in the lease agreement.