When was the vietnam war what year?

The Vietnam conflict started November 1, 1955. This was north and south Vietnam only. On February 28, 1962 the United States began sending advisors with the South Vietnamese on missions. Congress considers the official start of the war August 5, 1964. The war officially ended May 7, 1975.