How much sun do mums need?

At least 3 hours of direct sunlight per day, but the more the better.

---

As much as you can give them. Mums will thrive in full sun conditions, given adequate moisture. About three hours of direct sunlight is about the minimum that will produce bushy plants and plenty of flowers.