What are the chances of being hit by a meteor?

Scientists estimate the lifetime odds of dying from a local meteorite, asteroid, or comet impact at 1 in 1,600,000. Compared that with 1 in 90 for a car accident, 1 in 250 for a fire, 1 in 60,000 for a tornado and 1 in 135,000 for lightning.