What type of soil is best for fig trees?

Fig trees grow best in well-drained, organically-rich soils, but they will grow on many other soil types and are tolerant of heavy clay soils if drainage is good. In soil with low fertility or compact clay it'll be worth your time to mix in some organic compost to the native soil.