What does the lightning rod do in minecraft?

A Minecraft Lightning Rod, like a real one, will divert lightning strikes, making it hit the rod instead of any other blocks surrounding it.

---

A Minecraft Lightning Rod will divert lightning strikes, making it hit the rod instead of any other blocks surrounding it. In Minecraft Java Edition, the area covered by the Lightning Rod is 32x4x32. In Bedrock edition, it's 64x64x64.