Can coconut oil go rancid?

coconut oil does contain some fats that are more likely to go rancid, so coconut oil cannot be stored and used indefinitely. Eventually, the oil will go rancid, particularly if you are using a large jar and regularly opening it, regularly exposing it to air, water and heat in the environment.