What was the first bottled water?

The first commercially distributed water in America was bottled and sold by Jackson's Spa in Boston in 1767.

---

The first commercially distributed water in America was bottled and sold by Jackson's Spa in Boston in 1767. Early drinkers of bottled spa waters believed that the water at these mineral springs had therapeutic properties and that bathing in or drinking the water could treat many common ailments.