Why are the contestants wearing purple ribbons on jeopardy?

“Jeopardy!” contestants and host Alex Trebek are wearing purple ribbons to honor a Kansas City-area teacher who won on the show then died of cancer this year. It was the same type of cancer that Trebek is battling.