Can you substitute sour cream for yogurt?

When substituting sour cream for plain yogurt, or vice versa, it's quite easy: the basic rule of thumb is that you can just use the same amount. This is especially true when you're using it uncooked, like for dips, salad dressings, or baked potatoes.