What is the difference between a mandarin and a tangerine?

A mandarin is a small orange tree of southeastern Asia with yellow to reddish-orange fruits. A tangerine is any of various mandarin oranges that have usually deep orange skin and pulp which means that the mandarin is the fruit of a tangerine tree.