How big of a turkey do you need for six adults?

At a big Thanksgiving dinner, the average person will consume between four and eight ounces of turkey. Most people prefer white meat. Turkey is seventy percent white meat. A ten-pound turkey will have seven pounds of white meat which is plenty for dinner and turkey sandwiches afterward.