Who is captain saroo?

A Starfleet Science Officer and Lieutenant Commander initially on the U.S.S. Shenzhou and then on the U.S.S. Discovery, Saru is a Kelpien, an alien prey species that lives in a perpetual state of fear and has biologically fostered the ability to sense threats, particularly impending death.