What is a tommy gun?

The byname Tommy gun refers to the Thompson submachine gun. It was patented in 1920 by its American designer, John T. Thompson. It weighed about 10 pounds or 4.5 kg empty & fired .45-calibre ammunition. The magazine was either a circular drum that held 50-100 rounds or a box that held 20-30 rounds.