What goes well with bourbon?

The sugars in certain fruits can sometimes create flavor changes in the bourbon, making for an all-new drinking experience. Other good pairings to bourbon are maple syrup, sweet potatoes, and chocolate. In general, anything with sweet, smoky, or slightly spicy flavors will pair well with bourbon.