How can you tell how old a pumpkin is?

The Skin is Hard The skin of a pumpkin will be hard when the pumpkin is ripe. Use a fingernail and gently try to puncture the pumpkin's skin. If the skin dents but doesn't puncture, the pumpkin is ready to pick.