Why is it called a piggy back ride?

The term 'pickbacking' traces back to the 16th century. People would often carry supplies on their back while traveling. The “back” part was obvious, but as centuries progressed everyone had forgotten where “picka” came from and came up with a word that made more sense. 'Picka’ became ‘piggy’.