What does it mean when your dog puts their fall on you?

Putting his paw on you while you are petting him he is expanding contact and reciprocating affection back to you. While this act can be interpreted as an expression of love, your dog pawing at you can also be numerous other feelings. He wants to play, he wants food, or may be in pain.