What is the purpose of baking powder?

The purpose of baking powder is to leaven bread and similar foods like pancakes, which means to make it airy and less dense.

---

Baking powder is a leavening agent. That means it helps your baked item rise. Eggs, baking soda, yeast are also used to help add air to the things you bake but the have their own individual purpose and can work together at times but not be substituted in most cases.