How much damage does an iron sword do?

Wars were fought with iron swords and other iron weapons for over a thousand years. Iron weapons are very lethal against flesh. In a duel an iron sword would be easily bested by a steel sword. An iron sword can be brittle and will not hold an edge like a steel weapon.