Do essential oils expire?

While all oils can eventually expire, some last longer than others. Essential oils which contain a lot of phenols may last up to 3 years, but those which contain ketones, monoterpenols, or esters have a shelf life of 4-5 years. The potentially longest-lasting essential oils can last up to 6 years.