Are sweet potatoes and yams?

While both are underground tuber vegetables, they are actually very different. Sweet potatoes are a starchy root vegetable and are usually sweeter and moister than regular potatoes. True yams are a starchier and drier than sweet potatoes and rarely found in local grocery stores.

---

Sweet potatoes and yams are different. The skin of a yam looks kind of like tree bark, while a sweet potato is more reddish-brown. Real yams are entirely different root vegetables that are more like yucca in texture and flavor.