What is the difference between cider and and juice?

Essentially apple juice is apple cider that has been heated to change the color, flavor, and texture. The color is transparent, and the flavor is sweeter. Apple juice has a smooth texture because it's usually strained to eliminate pulp and sediment found in more traditional apple cider.