What does beer taste like?

Beer is typically brewed with malted barley or wheat, roasted darkly or lightly to various degrees; hops; yeast; and water, all of which affects its basic flavor. Sometimes, other grains, fruits and flavorings are added. When fresh and served properly, a beer's final taste encompasses all the above.