Where does horseradish come from?

Horseradish is made from the root of the armoracia rusticana plant. It's a fiberous white root with a sharp, spicey taste. It's likely native to Southeastern Europe and Western Asia, and came to America during European colonization. The root is commonly pureed or grated to make a spicey condiment.