When was the declaration of emancipation?

Abraham Lincoln issue the Emancipation Proclamation on Sept. 22, 1862 which declared that, on Jan 1, 1863, all persons held as slaves in America "...thenceforth and forever free;"

---

The Emancipation Proclamation, issued on September 22, 1862, was effective January 1, 1863. It said “all persons held as slaves within any State, or designated part of a State, the people whereof shall then be in rebellion against the United States shall be then, thenceforward, and forever free.”