How do you put out a chemical fire?

A non-cooking related chemical fire is a Class B fire, these result from flammable liquids or gases. You extinguish these by smothering the flames, oppressing the fire eliminates the oxygen feeding the flames, and thereby deadens the fire. Never attempt to extinguish by using water.