How many grams make a cup?

It depends on what you are measuring. For instance, an average cup of flour weighs 136 grams and a cup of butter weighs 227 grams. The same goes for liquids. A cup of water is 240 grams and a cup of honey, maple syrup or molasses is about 340 grams.