Why do they call new york the big apple?

The nickname "The Big Apple" was popularized in the 1920s by John J Fitz Gerald, a sports writer, in reference to the prizes (or "big apples") rewarded at the many racing courses in and around New York City, but wasn't officially adopted as the city's nickname until 1971 .