Who fought in the civil war?

The Civil War, also referred to as the war of the North and the South, was fought between factions within the United States. Starting in 1861 when Confederate troops fired on Fort Sumter and lasting until 1865 when Confederate General Robert E. Lee surrenders to Union General Ulysses S. Grant.