Why is it called neapolitan ice cream?

The name Neopolitan ice cream comes from the people who brought it to America: immigrants from Naples, Italy and from Napoli around the 1880s. They brought with them a three flavored ice cream treat called spumoni. Americans began to call it the “Neapolitan-style ice cream.”