Why did they call babe ruth babe?

In order for Ruth to play professionally (he was only 19) he had to have a legal guardian sign his baseball contract . He was an orphan and scout Jack Dunn became Ruth's legal guardian, leading teammates to jokingly call Ruth "Dunn's new babe." The joke stuck, and Ruth got the nickname "Babe" Ruth.