What's the white pepper?

White pepper, like black pepper, is made from the berries of the pepper plant. Unlike black pepper, however, white pepper comes from berries that are picked at full ripeness. These berries are then soaked in water to ferment. Finally, the outer layer is removed leaving only the inner seed.