How much does muscle weigh compared to fat?

The comparison between muscle and fat should be made by volume or density rather than by weight. An ounce of muscle and an ounce of fat both weigh an ounce, however, a cubic inch of muscle weighs approximately .613 ounces whereas a cubic inch of fat weighs approximately .532 ounces.