What are japanese sweet potatoes?

The Japanese sweet potato (also known as Japanese yam or Murasaki sweet potato) is a sweet potato variety with a thin rusted red-colored skin and cream colored flesh. The flesh is dry, starchy and subtly sweet while the skin is bitter in flavor.