What is dialectical behavior therapy?

Dialectical behavior therapy or DBT, is evidence-based form of psychotherapy that trained mental health specialists may use in conjunction with other methods to alleviate or change various behavioral problems associated with personality/mood disorders such as self-harm and suicidal ideation.