What is newton's first law of motion?

Newton's first law of motion describes inertia. It is commonly stated: An object at rest, tends to stay at rest; and an object in motion, tends to stay in motion.

---

Newton's first law is an object at rest tends to stay at rest, and object in constant linear velocity tends to maintain a constant linear velocity. Unless a force acts on that object.