How can you tell an avocado is bad?

Avocados are rotten if they're extremely soft when squeezed, or brown or moldy inside. They may also have developed a sour smell. If the fruit is just starting to brown inside, & the rest of the fruit looks and smells fine, you may be able to salvage the non-brown portions.