What happened on march fourteenth?

On 14 March 1794, Eli Whitney was granted a patent for the cotton gin. In 1885, "The Mikado" was first performed. In 1900, United States currency went onto the Gold Standard. In 1939, Slovakia declared independence. In 1964, Jack Ruby was convicted of murdering Lee Harvey Oswald.