How hot is space?

Space is very, very cold — roughly 2.7 Kelvin, which is equal to -270.45° Celsius or -454.81° Fahrenheit. This is mostly due to a lack of atmosphere and the vacuum-like nature of space — with very few molecules to energetically bounce around, there can be no heat.

---

Outer space is very close to perfect vacuum, and the average temperature is 3 Kelvin (around -270.15 Celsius). Objects that are inside the solar system, can be warmed by the Sun to extreme temperatures, depending on distance to the sun, but this is not related to the temperature of open space itself