What was stewart's folly?

Seward signs a treaty with Russia for the purchase of Alaska for $7 million. Despite the bargain price of roughly two cents an acre, the Alaskan purchase was ridiculed in Congress and in the press as “Seward's Folly,” “Seward's icebox,” and President Andrew Johnson's “polar bear garden.”