Does a ring around the moon mean rain?

A ring around the moon or moon halo is seen at night due to ice crystals in the upper atmosphere refracting moonlight. Some cultures have considered this an indication for upcoming rain as in the old proverb “A ring around the sun or moon means rain or snow is coming soon”