When did luau cinder change his name?

Lew Alcindor publicly announced in 1971 that he would like to be called Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, his Islamic name, when he was the NBA's Most Valuable Player with the Milwaukee Bucks. He said he took the name in the summer of 1968 after converting to Islam.