Why do people shrink when they get old?

As you age, your bones become more brittle and the cartilage between them deteriorates. On average, we shrink about a quarter to a third of an inch per decade for every decade after 40. All told, men will get about 1.2 to 1.5 inches shorter, and women will lose up to 2 inches, by age 70.