When was wicked created?

The original production of the musical Wicked premiered at the Gershwin Theatre in October 2003 following try-out performances in San Francisco in May and June of that year. The musical is based on the 1995 novel Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire.