What number plastics are recyclable?

Plastics are often stamped with a resin code, a number between 1 and 7. Types 1 and 2 can always be recycled. Type 3, polyvinyl chloride, is not recyclable. Types 4 thru 7 can sometimes be recycled; check with your local collection and recycling service.